

Council Year 2017/2018

Schedule of Group Nominations, including proposed appointments to the Cabinet by the Leader designate

Notes: (1) Where the number of members of a body is variable, the optional additional member number is bracketed – please see the accompanying paper on the application of the political balance rules where the different options are considered.

(2) Substitutes are allowed where indicated. The Council's Constitution requires that these be named and appointed at the Annual meeting. A number equal to the number of committee members from a Group up to a maximum of 3 are allowed for that Group unless stated otherwise.

CABINET (Leader of the Council plus additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the members (other than the Leader) is to be made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least 3 but not more than 10 members (including the Leader).

1	Leader of the Council: David Tutt Responsibilities aligned with Chief Executive and including the community strategy, local strategic partnership, the corporate plan and economic development.			
2	Deputy Leader: Gill Mattock Financial services including accountancy, audit, purchasing and payments.			
3	Margaret Bannister Tourism and leisure services.			
4	Jonathan Dow Place services including cleansing and recycling, parks and downland, engineering, building and development control, planning policy and strategy, environmental health and licensing.			
5	Dean Sabri Core support and strategic services.			
6	Alan Shuttleworth Direct assistance services including revenues and benefits, housing and community development and bereavement services.			
7	John Ungar Community safety			

OPPOSITION "SHADOW CABINET" (Notification for information)

1	Opposition Leader: Tony Freebody Community strategy, local strategic partnership, corporate plan and economic development, core support and strategic services.			
2	Deputy Leader: Penny di Cara Financial Services,			
	including accountancy, audit, purchasing and payments.			
3	Gordon Jenkins: Building and development control,			
	planning policy and strategy, engineering and			
	community safety.			
4	Colin Murdoch: Tourism and leisure services.			
5	Paul Metcalfe: Revenues and benefits, housing and			
	community development and bereavement services .			
6	Robert Smart: Cleansing and recycling, parks and			
	downland, environmental health and licensing.			

COMMITTEES

Scrutiny Committee (7 or 8 members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. Chairman to be appointed from the largest opposition group. and Deputy Chairman from the controlling group.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Stepehn Holt	6	Ch: Penny di Cara
2	Md Harun Miah	7	Colin Belsey
3	Jim Murray	8	Robert Smart
4	Pat Rodohan	Substitutes:	
5	Steve Wallis		
Subs	titutes:	1	Paul Metcalfe
1	Janet Coles	2	Barry Taylor
2	Margaret Robinson		

<u>Planning Committee</u> (12 trained Councillors - not Cabinet members. 8 as members of the Committee and 4 as substitutes).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Jim Murray	6	Barry Taylor
2	D/Ch: Janet Coles	7	Gordon Jenkins
3	Md Harun Miah	8	Colin Murdoch
4	Margaret Robinson	Sub	stitutes:
5	Sammy Choudhury	1	Penny di Cara
Sub	stitutes:	2	Paul Metcalfe
1	Steve Wallis		
2	Pat Hearn		

<u>Licensing Act and General Licensing Committees</u> (Between 10 and 15 trained Members (13 proposed for 2017/18) – not Cabinet members). Substitutes are not allowed.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Troy Tester	10	Colin Belsey
2	D/Ch: Pat Rodohan	11	Tony Freebody
3	Sammy Choudhury	12	Colin Murdoch
4	Janet Coles	13	Robert Smart
5	Stephen Holt		
6	Jim Murray		
7	Margaret Robinson		
8	Colin Swansborough		
9	Vacant – name to be advised		

<u>Sub-Committee Standing Chairmen:</u> (Between 3 and 5 members drawn from the membership of the Licensing Committees)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Troy Tester	5	Colin Belsey
2	Stephen Holt		
3	Pat Rodohan		
4	Vacant – name to be advised		

<u>Audit and Governance Committee</u> (8 Councillors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Colin Swansborough	6	Penny di Cara
2	D/Ch: Troy Tester	7	Paul Metcalfe
3	Sammy Choudhury	8	Barry Taylor
4	Margaret Robinson	Sub	stitutes:
5	Stephen Holt	1	Colin Belsey
Sub	stitutes:	2	Tony Freebody
1	Gill Mattock		
2	Troy Tester		

ADVISORY GROUPS

Conservation Area Advisory Group 4 (or 3) members, not Planning Committee members, plus external advisors)

In 2016/17 the Conservation Area Advisory Group had 4 members. Past Council practice has been to allow the opposition an equality of seats.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Pat Rodohan	3	Colin Belsey
2	D/Ch: Colin Swansborough	4	Robert Smart
		Subs	titute: Tony Freebody

Joint Staff Consultative Committee (3 members, 2 from the controlling group and 1 from the largest opposition group, plus staff representatives. Controlling Group's representation to include at least 1 Cabinet member. Chairmanship alternates between Employer's and Staff Sides). *N.B. Employer's Side will take chair in 2017/18*

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Dean Sabri	1	Gordon Jenkins
2	Margaret Bannister		
Substitutes:		Substitutes:	
1	Gill Mattock	1	Penny Di Cara
2	David Tutt	2	Tony Freebody

TASK GROUPS:

Grants Task Group (3 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Alan Shuttleworth	3	Penny di Cara
2	Margaret Bannister		

Downland Forum (3 members)

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
	1	Gill Mattock	3	Colin Belsey
ſ	2	Pat Hearn		

Town Team Grants Panel (3 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	David Tutt	3	Tony Freebody
2	Gill Mattock		

EBC COMPANY DIRECTORSHIPS:

Eastbourne Homes - Non Executive Directors (currently 2)

1	Colin Swansborough
2	Kathy Ballard

Welbeing (formerly Wealden and Eastbourne Lifeline) Board - Non Executive Directors (Council's Chief Executive and one "independent" external person)

• • •	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	<i>]</i>			
1	Robert Cottrill (CE	=)	2	Independent person	

CloudConnX Board - Director (Council's Chief Executive)

1 Robert Cottrill (CE)

Eastbourne Housing Investment Company Limited Board:

1	David Tutt (Leader)
2	John Ungar (Cabinet member)

3	Roger Eastwood (Chair, Eastbourne Homes Ltd)		
4	nn Fitzpatrick, Director of Service Delivery		
5	Nazeya Hussain, Director of Regeneration and Planning		

PROJECT BOARDS:

Airbourne Project Board: Cllrs: Margaret Bannister, Colin Murdoch (substitute Gordon Jenkins) and David Tutt

Homes First Working Group: Cllr Alan Shuttleworth

Carbon Reduction Board: Cllrs: Margaret Bannister, Gill Mattock and Jim Murray.

Cultural Development Group: Cllrs: Margaret Bannister and Colin Murdoch (substitute Penny di Cara).

Devonshire Park Project Board: Cllrs: Margaret Bannister, Gordon Jenkins (substitute Tony Freebody) and David Tutt

Housing and Economic Development Project Board: Cllrs Alan Shuttleworth and David Tutt.

Joint Transformation Programme Board: EBC Cllrs Tony Freebody (substitute Penny di Cara), Gill Mattock and David Tutt.

Local Plan Steering Group: Cllrs Margaret Bannister, Jonathan Dow, Pat Hearn, Gordon Jenkins (substitute Barry Taylor), Jim Murray and David Tutt

Redoubt Museum Policy Group: Cllrs Stephen Holt and Colin Murdoch

Strategic Property Board: Cllrs Gill Mattock, Barry Taylor (substitute Gordon Jenkins) and David Tutt

Terminus Road Project Board (joint with ESCC): Cllrs Tony Freebody (substitute Penny di Cara) and David Tutt

Wish Tower Project Board: Cllrs David Tutt, Gordon Jenkins (substitute Tony Freebody) and Margaret Bannister.

OTHER:

Armed Forces Covenant Champion: Cllr Stephen Holt

Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) Champion: Cllr Md Harun Miah

Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief:Cllrs Tony Freebody, Stephen Holt, Dean Sabri and Troy Tester

Disability Champion: Cllr Janet Coles.

Energy Champion: Councillor Jonathan Dow

Heritage Champion: Mrs Rebecca Madell.

Hospitals Champion: Hon. Freeman Mrs Elizabeth Walke.